Classic Cape

23 Jun

I just LOVE this classic vintage 1960’s cape I found recently on one of my shopping adventures!  Just so simple, great color, clean lines- and it was made by an individual!  It’s lightweight- perfect for Spring and Summer, whereas most capes are heavier and best for the winter months.  I love how the cape looks with a shorter dress and showing legs- sexy, but still covered up.  The construction is superb, way better then most factory made garments made today.

I put it for sale in the shop, but seeing it again in photos I wish I kept it for myself!  It’s a funny thing, this selling vintage clothing is- I have so much access to vintage clothing and am constantly purchasing amazing pieces that I’m in love with, but them have to see them go.  It’s quite ironic that when I actually look in my own closet I really have NOTHING to wear- it’s seriously filled with cheap H&M and Forever 21 clothes from years ago…I think it’s time I start holding on to some of the better pieces for myself……

Be sure to check out Castaway Vintage on Etsy for other great finds- all of the new items have been selling out fast!

4 Responses to “Classic Cape”

  1. Claudia June 23, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    Utterly, utterly fantastic!! 😀 It’s so beautiful

  2. paige June 25, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    i hear ya. it’s been harder to part with the items i find because i’m getting pickier about what i want to sell! haha. i’ve been wearing a lot of vintage pieces to work these days (and outside, of course). i feel better selling them after i’ve had a chance to wear them. 🙂

    • castawayvintage June 25, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

      I know, I love having a ‘rotating closet’- always having something new to wear until it sells, but now I’m starting to miss and regret a few things I’ve let go, and want to start building my own wardrobe, maybe just one piece a shopping trip….

  3. Anthea June 28, 2010 at 12:04 am #

    Gorgeous outfit! That cape is a great find!

Leave a Reply

