Thrifty Chic

17 Jun

Finally had a chance to photograph a few of the items that have been filling up our spare bedroom over the last month!  It’s a terrible feeling to run a business and have so much inventory- just sitting around!  Being out of town the whole month of May, then my boyfriend needing a new car left us car shopping all of his recent days off.  Yesterday we were finally able to get in a photo shoot, and with our new camera I got for my birthday!  I still have to edit through all of the photos before they can be listed- but here is one of the outfits that will be going up later today or tomorrow, and how you can still be chic without spending tons of $$.  This whole outfit was under $100!

Just because you’re on a tight budget doesn’t mean you need to sacrifice style, and vintage doesn’t always have to mean transporting your look into another era (though I love my 60’s Twiggy dresses and 50’s plaid!!)

This look is  definitely a tad bit 80’s, but the shoes bring into the modern world.  Sometimes too much vintage can be a bit costume-y, and just mixing in some modern pieces bring into a look that translates into fresh, not dated.

The hat I borrowed from my boyfriend, who bought it for $5 on sale at Urban Outfitters, and I bought the sunglasses there for $12.

The black lace bodysuit is very American Apparel- but I bought it for $7 at Beacon’s Closet in Brooklyn- huge resale/thrift/vintage shop when I was visiting last month.

The belt I thrifted for $1- a little boy’s ‘Dockers’ belt.

The pants I thrifted, vintage Liz Claiborne, and these will be up for sale today or tomorrow are available now at

Castaway Vintage

The shoes are from the Cynthia Vincent for Target collection- $30!!

Same look- with black vintage high waisted pleated pants- also for sale now at   Castaway Vintage

More looks coming here and to Etsy soon!

xx

7 Responses to “Thrifty Chic”

  1. paige June 17, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    love this look! it’s kinda my fave right now.

    • castawayvintage June 17, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

      Thanks! I’ve been addicted to my skinny jeans- just over a year ago I would never believe I’d be wearing baggy pleated ‘mom-pants’ !!

  2. Adele Joanna June 17, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    These are actually amazing. & I went to order them but I am 4’11 I just don’t think they will look so great!

    – Adele
    MOLTOCURIOSA.COM

  3. xxoo, v. June 17, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    oh my, oh my! i LOVED your pants! and really a great look! amazing!

  4. Chloe June 21, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    I went to buy these pants the day after I found them on Etsy, but someone else had already snatched them up! Tragedy! Find me another pair, won’t you?

  5. Chloe June 21, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

    The bottom pair. 🙂

Leave a Reply

